• Jefferson Elementary All A's Honor Roll

     First grade

    Daniel Bivens

    Carrie Brandon

    Jimmy Brown

    Kinley Calloway

    Ay’den Chambers

    Madison Cook

    Dakota Deaver

    Garrett Deese

    Landon Deese

    Trinity Eason

    Dylan Freeman

    Kyleigh Hough

    Elizabeth Jordan

    Blair Kirkley

    Anna Love

    Hart Melton

    Tyrus Miller

    Shaniya Mungo

    Seth Oliver

    Chris Parker

  • Jefferson Elementary Honor Roll

     First Grade

    Ember Cardwell

    Caleb Carnes

    Cameron Jenkins

    Julia Jordan

    Ian Laney

    Holley Linder

    Ja’Marcus Mungo

    Bryan Parker

    Alexis Robinson

    Will Spafford

    Terra Timney


    Second Grade

    Will Atkinson

    Rontavius Benjamin

    Violet Conner

    Xavier Clyburn

  • Students support lottery program

     Students and staff from Northeastern Technical College recently joined hundreds of other students from the South Carolina Technical College system at the State House in Columbia to show support and appreciation of the Lottery Tuition Assistance (LTA) program.


    Rally participants wore T-shirts that said “Thank you for LTA,” a program that nearly 285,000 technical college students have benefitted from since its inception.


  • Quiz Bowl team honored

  • School District responds to federal AYP sanction

     The Chesterfield County School District released the following statement on its planned response to the school system’s failure to make adequate yearly process under federal law.

  • South Pointe Homecoming

     On Friday, Jan. 21 after the varsity boys won their game against Lake Pointe Academy, the South Pointe homecoming princess and queen were announced.


    Jefferson offers
    center for meetings

    The Community Center of the town of Jefferson is available for Jefferson groups to use free of charge on Tuesdays. The Town Board decided last week to make the facility available 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Anyone interested should contact Town Hall to reserve the building. The center has a kitchen that groups can use provided they clean up. For information call 843-658-7600.

    Gainey wins
    spelling bee

  • Pageland Elementary makes steady progress

    Jose Sobal rushed up to principal Jim Heffner the second he walked in the door of Bill Wetzel’s special ed class, enthusiastically waving a sheet of paper.
    “I’m doing good,” he said, breaking into a joyous grin.
    “You are doing good,” Heffner said.

  • Former textile worker learns new career skills at NETC

    The work force needs more Van Carlisles, according to a CareSouth Carolina employee, who says her coworker’s high energy and positive attitude keeps the office charged up.
    An outreach care coordinator for CareSouth, Carlisle, of McColl, provides health screenings and education on stroke prevention for the Marlboro County area through the Stroke Mobile Project.

  • Education Briefs

    Business and office technology instructor Melisa Johnson has received the 2010 Governor’s Distinguished Professor of the Year award for Northeastern Technical College.    
    Johnson began her tenure at NETC as an adjunct faculty member for the Office Systems Technology Program in 2001. In 2003, she was hired full-time as an instructor and was appointed assistant dean of the Business and Administrative Office Technology program in 2008. She also serves as an advisor for the National Technical Honor Society.